Set building and design advice

Hazel Davis
Hazel Davis
Assistant Stage Manager

I am currently studying technical theatre and would like to find out a bit more about going into set building/ carpentry and design. I'll be finishing off the HND next year but I would rather learn on the job than do further college or Uni.
Are most jobs of this type freelance or as part of a larger company? What kind of skills are people looking for? Also I am up in Scotland so finding work experience maybe harder. If any one could give me a few pointer that would be great.
Thanks all. :)

• 3 years ago
Molly Stoker
Molly Stoker
Lighting Technician

Hi Hazel,

I recommend you get in touch with Pitlochry Festival Theatre and explain your situation. They produce a summer season of shows and Christmas show every year. They have a large workshop and build all their own sets. Depending on your skills they might be able to offer you a seasonal post.

Molly

• 3 years ago
Hazel Davis
Hazel Davis
Assistant Stage Manager

Hmm sounds intriguing, I will get in touch with them. Thanks for the advice Molly. :)

Hazel

• 3 years ago
anonymous
User Deleted
This profile has been archived

Hi Hazel,

Where in Scotland are you based? Scottish Opera have their own workshops as do several other organisations across the central belt. Is it scenery building or design that you're looking to get into?

Cheers,
Darren

• 2 years ago
anonymous
User Deleted

Looking for work in wales

• 2 years ago
Molly Stoker
Molly Stoker
Lighting Technician