Mandy Crew USA

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2017 winners

THE Evening Standard Theatre Awards took place at the star-studded Theatre Royal Drury Lane in London, UK, last night. 

4th December 2017
/ By Andrew Wooding

Zendaya and Amber Riley at the Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2017 GETTY

Scores of high-profile actors, producers and directors were in attendance, including two-time Oscar-winner Cate Blanchett and Hamilton star Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Jez Butterworth's The Ferryman bagged three awards while Dreamgirls star Amber Riley won the prize for Best Musical Performance.

Check out the complete list of Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2017 winners below:

Best Actor in partnership with Ambassador Theatre Group
Andrew Garfield – Angels in America (National Theatre)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress in partnership with Christian Louboutin
Glenda Jackson – King Lear (Old Vic)

Best Musical Performance
Amber Riley – Dreamgirls (Savoy Theatre)

Best Play in partnership with Hiscox, official arts partner of the Evening Standard
The Ferryman – Jez Butterworth (Royal Court Theatre & Gielgud Theatre)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
Sam Mendes – The Ferryman (Royal Court Theatre & Gielgud Theatre)

Best Design
Bunny Christie Heisenberg: The Uncertainty Principle (Wyndham’s Theatre), The Red Barn (National Theatre), Ink (Almeida Theatre and Duke of York’s Theatre)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Branden Jacobs-Jenkins – An Octoroon (Orange Tree Theatre)

Emerging Talent Award
Tom Glynn-Carney – The Ferryman (Royal Court Theatre & Gielgud Theatre)

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical
Bat out of Hell – The Musical (Coliseum)