Soho Theatre

  • About
    Soho Theatre Company was founded in 1969 by Verity Bargate and Fred Proud and resident at the Soho Poly Theatre until 1990. During that time the early work of writers such as Timberlake Wertenbaker, Sue Townsend, Tony Marchant, Hanif Kureishi and Pam Gems was premiered.

    From 1992-1995 the Company had a successful residence at the Cockpit Theatre, premiering the work of over 35 writers led by Artistic Director Abigail Morris.

    Soho Theatre Company left the Cockpit in 1995 and began the search for a new theatre, led by David Aukin, Abigail Morris and Mark Godfrey. 21 Dean Street was identified as the first choice and Paxton Locher Architects were appointed. In May 1996, STC became the first (and only) arts organisation to purchase a property on the open market with Lottery funds.

    Following the successful Site Specific season - created in a temporary theatre space at 21 Dean Street-building works began in 1997 and were completed in January 2000.
  • Built in
  • Address
    21 Dean Street
    W1D 3NE
  • Booking Contact
    0870 429 6883
  • Website

Members of Mandy who have worked for Soho Theatre